5 places without which Norilsk is not Norilsk

► Norilsk Mining and Metallurgical Combine named after A.P. Zavenyagin

Oddly enough, but it is the enterprise that is the heart of this city, its foundation and magnet, attracting people from different parts of Russia. For more than 80 years, the plant has been shaping the look of Norilsk, giving it its own rhythm and providing jobs for several generations of Norilsk residents.

► Leninsky Prospekt
The central artery of the city with many shops looks like small Saint-Petersburg in the middle of the endless tundra. And this is noy accidental: in the late 40s, Leningrad architects took part in the design of the avenue.

► Monument “The Last Gate”
A reminder of the bitter history of the construction of Norilsk. From 1935 to 1956, Schmidt Mountain became the last refuge for tens of thousands of executed and deceased prisoners in Norillag. At the foot of this mountain 56-meter gates are installed, as if opening their doors to the pain of the past, which, unfortunately, cannot be forgotten.

► Norilsk Polar Drama Theater named after V. Mayakovsky
The northernmost theater in the world was founded in 1941 in Norillag, its troupe consisted mainly of prisoners. In the most difficult times, work in the theater helped the actors not to lose faith in themselves and inspired the audience. Now this theater is one of the best in the region. Classics are played here and the most modern performances are also staged.

► Mountain gorge "Red stones"
One of the most beautiful natural places of Norilsk is located 30 km from it. Here you can see a waterfall falling in two cascades into a pristine lake, and an unusual mountain landscape of a red-brown hue.

Photo: Dokukin Sergey, Elena Chernysheva, Vladimir Podtikhov, William Brumfield.

5 мест, без которых Норильск не Норильск

► Норильский горно-металлургический комбинат им. А. П. Завенягина 
Как ни странно, но именно предприятие является сердцем этого города, его основой и магнитом, притягивающим людей с разных уголков России. Уже более 80 лет комбинат формирует облик Норильска, задает ему свой ритм и обеспечивает работой несколько поколений норильчан.

► Ленинский проспект
Центральная артерия города с многочисленными магазинами - маленький Питер посреди бескрайней тундры. И это неспроста: в конце 40-х годов ленинградские архитекторы волей неволей приняли участие в проектировании проспекта.

► Памятник «Последние врата» 
Напоминание о горькой истории строительства Норильска. С 1935 по 1956 годы гора Шмидта стала последним пристанищем для десятков тысяч расстрелянных и умерших заключенных в Норильлаге. У подножия этой горы установлены 56-метровые врата, словно приоткрывающие свои двери в боль прошлого, которую, к сожалению, невозможно забыть.

► Норильский Заполярный театр драмы имени В. Маяковского 
Самый северный театр в мире был основан в 1941 году в Норильлаге, его труппа состояла в основном из заключённых. В самые трудные времена работа в театре помогала актерам не терять веры в себя и вдохновляла зрителей. Сейчас этот театр является одним из лучших в крае. Здесь играют классику и ставят самые современные спектакли.

► Горное ущелье «Красные камни»
Одно из красивейших природных мест Норильска находится в 30 км от него. Здесь можно увидеть водопад, падающий двумя каскадами в чистейшее озеро, и необычный горный пейзаж красно-коричневого оттенка.

Фото: Докукин Сергей, Елена ЧернышеваВладимир Подтихов, Уильям Брумфилд.