Yeniseisk

Yeniseysk is a small town in the Krasnoyarsk Territory, known for its rich history and cultural and historical heritage. The city is located on the Yenisei River, 348 kilometers from the capital of the region. The area of the settlement is 66.4 square kilometers, and the number is 18,000 people.

The first settlement on the site of a modern city was founded in 1619, due to its favorable location, Yeniseisk became one of the centers of Eastern Siberia. At the end of the 17th century, the main activity of the inhabitants was fishing and fur trade, and the number of citizens was 3 thousand people. At the beginning of the 18th century, Yeniseysk was transformed into a county town, after which its heyday began. Until the second half of the 19th century, here trade was in full swing, large-scale gold mining was conducted. But by the 1860s, there was no gold, in 1869 there were 3 devastating fires in the city, and in the spring of 1870 Yeniseisk was flooded due to ice drifts on the Yenisei and the Angara. Disasters caused irreparable damage to the city’s economy. Towards the end of the 19th century, the Trans-Siberian Railway was led through Krasnoyarsk and Yeniseysk finally lost its position.

Now Yeniseisk is a real "open-air museum", striking with its historical architecture and ancient heritage sites that have survived to this day.

What to see:

► Uspensky Cathedral - the oldest church of the Yenisei diocese of the Russian Orthodox Church and an interesting religious building in the Siberian Baroque style.

► Museum "Photoizba" - the museum contains interesting photographs, books, household items from the inhabitants of the Siberian city.

► Church on Monastery Lake - the lake near the temple is recognized as a natural monument. It is noteworthy that goldfish is found in this lake and the water has a reddish tint due to the large amount of iron.

► Spaso-Preobrazhenskiy Monastery is a small but impssive monastery of the Yenisei Diocese.

► Museum "Rubanki" - is one of the youngest private museums in Yeniseisk. It was created on the personal initiative of a resident of the city, Vitaliy Alekseevich Islentyev, who since 2008 has been acquiring and personally restoring wood planes from different cities of Russia and abroad, in 2013 his collection hit the Guinness Book of Records

Photo by Alexander Schetinin.


Write us

Енисейск

 

Енисейск – небольшой городок Красноярского края, известный своей богатой историей и культурно-историческим наследием. Город расположен на реке Енисей, в 348 километрах от столицы края. Площадь населенного пункта составляет 66,4 квадратных километра, а численность – 18 000 человек. 

Первое поселение на месте современного города было основано в 1619 году, благодаря удачному местоположению Енисейск стал одним из центров Восточной Сибири. В конце 17 века основной деятельностью жителей был рыбный и пушной промысел, а число горожан равнялось 3 тысячам человек. В начале 18 века Енисейск был преобразован в уездный город, после чего начался его расцвет. Вплоть до второй половины XIX века здесь кипела торговля, велась масштабная добыча золота. Но к 1860-ым золота не стало, в 1869-ом в городе произошло 3 разрушительных пожара, а весной 1870 года Енисейск затопило из-за ледоходов на Енисее и Ангаре. Бедствия нанесли непоправимый ущерб экономике города. К концу XIX столетия через Красноярск провели Транссибирскую магистраль и Енисейск окончательно потерял свои позиции.

Сейчас Енисейск - это настоящий «музей под открытым небом», поражающий своей исторической архитектурой и, сохранившимися до наших дней, старинных объектов наследия. 

Что посмотреть: 

► Успенский собор -   старейший храм Енисейской епархии Русской православной церкви и интересное религиозное сооружение в стиле сибирского барокко.

► Музей "Фотоизба" - в музее собраны интересные фотографии, книги, предметы быта жителей сибирского города. 

► Церковь на Монастырском озере - озеро возле храма признано природным памятником. Примечательно, что в этом озере водится золотой карась и вода из-за большого количества железа имеет красноватый оттенок. 

► Спасо-Преображенский монастырь -  небольшой, но впечатляюший своей красотой мужской монастырь Енисейской епархии.

► Музей «Рубанков» - является одним из самых молодых частных музеев Енисейска. Он был создан по личной инициативе жителя города Виталия Алексеевича Ислентьева, который с 2008 г. приобретает и собственноручно реставрирует рубанки из разных городов России и зарубежья, в 2013г. коллекция попала в Книгу рекордов Гиннеса 

Фото: Александр Щетинин.
 

 

 


Написать