Pokrovskaya Church in the village of Bolshoi Baltschug

In 1906, the laying of the wooden Pokrovskaya Church took place in the old Cossack village of Bolshoi Baltschug (“baltschug” in Turkic is “meadow”). The place was chosen in the center of the village, a few tens of meters from the banks of the Yenisei. For its construction, a resident of Krasnoyarsk Dmitry Ioakimovich Mastikov donated a thousand rubles. The church was built 6 years later - in 1912.

Over its long life, is has witnessed many events that all of Russia has experienced. So, through the Baltschug, in their tragic Great Siberian ice campaign, the white armies of General V.O. Kappel passed, and, probably, the prayers of the Russian people for the fate of their homeland were repeatedly offered in its walls. Later, during the years of Soviet rule, the Bolsheviks closed the temple and destroyed the iconostasis. As a result, a storage for grain was made from the holy place.

Also, the Pokrovskaya Church burned more than once. Just a little bit - and the monument of wooden architecture would have disappeared forever before it reached its centenary. But in 1986, the building of the Pokrovskaya Church in Bolshoi Baltschug was recognized as an object of cultural heritage of regional significance and taken for state protection. In 2011, the church was reconstructed by the Mining and Chemical Combine.

Photo: Diana Serebrennikova

Покровская церковь в селе Большой Балчуг

В 1906 г. состоялась закладка деревянной Покровской церкви в старинном казачьем селе Большой Балчуг («балчуг» в переводе с тюркского;— «луг»). Место было выбрано в центре села, в нескольких десятках метров от берега Енисея. На ее строительство житель Красноярска Дмитрий Иоакимович Мастиков пожертвовал тысячу рублей. Церковь была построена спустя 6 лет -  в 1912 году.

За свою долгую жизнь она стала свидетелем многих событий, которые выпало пережить всей России. Так, через Балчуг в своём трагическом Великом сибирском ледяном походе проходили белые армии генерала В. О. Каппеля, и, вероятно, в его стенах не раз возносились молитвы русских людей за судьбу своей Родины. Позже, в годы советской власти, большевики закрыли храм и уничтожили иконостас. В итоге из святого места сделали хранилище для зерна.

Также Покровская церковь не раз горела. Ещё чуть-чуть - и памятник деревянного зодчества исчез бы навсегда, не дожив до своего столетия. Но 1986 г. здание Покровской церкви в Большом Балчуге было признано объектом культурного наследия регионального значения и взято на госохрану. В 2011 г. церковь была реконструирована Горно-химическим комбинатом.

Фото: Диана Серебренникова